Florida is one of a few states in the United States with an increasing number of car insurance cases. If you live somewhere in Florida, you should be familiar with the state’s unique car insurance system. Everyone who drives in Florida is required to have personal injury protection (PIP) or No-Fault insurance. PIP insurance was designed to serve as a payment option for injuries sustained by any Florida driver who is involved in a motor accident.
Florida state law mandates that drivers with a Florida license plate must carry a minimum of $10,000 in PIP coverage and the same amount in property damage liability. Frankly, to answer the question “How does car insurance in Florida work?” you must understand the basis of Florida car insurance law, PIP coverage and when it applies, and exactly what you should do if you’re involved in a car accident in Florida. To answer these and other questions about car accidents in Florida, don’t hesitate to contact one of our expert car accident attorneys in Florida.
What is Florida Personal Injury Protection Insurance?
PIP insurance, also known as no-fault insurance, serves as a coverage option for accident damages regardless of who is at fault in the accident. This form of insurance is designed to cater to small injuries sustained in a car accident and prevent small injury cases from going to court.
PIP insurance is fantastic. There are situations where drivers lose concentration when driving – due to cellphone use, say, or as a result of overthinking – which can result in accident. Even in these cases, PIP insurance still covers the driver.
What is covered by Florida Personal Injury Protection?
Like a few other states in the country, Florida PIP insurance often covers the following:
Whenever you’re involved in a car accident in Florida, most of your medical bills or costs will be covered by PIP if you’re PIP insured. PIP claims can be used to cover medical bills, surgery expenses, rehabilitation costs, diagnostic service bills and ambulatory service bills. For your PIP claim to cover the full cost of your damages, you must have PIP coverage in an amount higher than your medical bills or damages.
If you become disabled as a result of a Florida car accident, Florida PIP must pay 60% of your lost wages, subject to a limit of $10,000.
Limitations to PIP Insurance
As stated earlier, PIP (no-fault) insurance pays for treatment of minor injuries sustained during a car accident and aims to prevent these cases from getting to court. The problem with PIP insurance in Florida is that PIP coverage does not offer enough compensation to cover all the damages one might suffer in an accident.
Consult Louis Law Group’s Florida Car Accident Attorney
If you want to learn more about car insurance policies in Florida, don’t hesitate to reach out to us at Louis Law Group. Our certified lawyers will be glad to schedule a free consultation with you. Also, if you intend to file a personal injury lawsuit, our Florida car accident attorneys can advise you on the best and most appropriate steps to take.