Car Accident Lawyer in West Palm Beach
Do you need a car accident lawyer in West Palm Beach? If so, the Louis Law Group can review your case and fight to get you the compensation that you’re owed.
Reach one of West Palm Beach Personal Injury Lawyers Today. Call (954) 676-4179
Every insured Floridian is entitled to compensation for the injuries they’ve suffered from an auto accident. It doesn’t matter who was at fault in the auto accident, thanks to the no-fault insurance laws of Florida. The Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage on your auto insurance policy is what pays for your hospital bills, medical bills, and lost wages before anything else. Just don’t expect insurance companies to immediately grant you this coverage, because they’re always looking for ways not to pay.
There are specific state requirements which must be satisfied before an insurance company will issue PIP compensation. For example, Florida requires you to seek medical treatment no later than 2 weeks after your car accident. Only a doctor can determine whether you have an emergency medical condition or not. If you are diagnosed with an emergency medical condition, you’re entitled to receive as much as $10,000 in compensation from your PIP policy. But if you don’t have an emergency medical condition, you can receive no more than $2,500 in compensation.
Failure to seek treatment within 2 weeks after your car accident would mean that you’re no longer entitled to any PIP compensation. However, if you’ve met the proper requirements and sought medical treatment, but your insurance company is not granting you the PIP coverage you’re owed, contact Louis Law Group today. We’ll make sure they’ll pay you what you’re owed.
Personal Injury Protection is not the only type of compensation available to you after an auto accident. If the other driver was at fault for the accident and their actions caused serious injury or death to you or your family members, you’re entitled to recover additional damages from their insurance provider as well.
In Florida, there is a serious injury threshold which must be met before you can recover damages from the at-fault driver. The threshold refers to the level of severity of the injuries incurred. If you or your family members incurred a permanent injury, permanent scarring, permanent disfigurement, loss of normal bodily function, or death, then it would meet the threshold for you to seek damages. Only one of these injuries needs to exist, too.
When you’re ready to file an insurance claim with the insurance company of the at-fault driver, it would be wise to have proper legal representation throughout the process. Louis Law Group can work with the at-fault driver’s insurance company on your behalf to ensure they pay you the maximum amount of compensation you’re entitled to receive under the law.
How Negligence is Determined
Louis Law Group must be able to prove that the other driver was negligent if we’re to seek damages from their insurance company on your behalf. The police report and eyewitness testimony will be two big factors in determining whether the other driver was reckless and failed to obey traffic laws. We will also look at any recorded video surveillance or photo surveillance of the accident, if it exists. Further consideration will be given to how your injuries were caused in the accident.
Based on what our investigation uncovers, we will know whether you have a good case to seek damages. For more information contact our offices, call (954) 676-4179 to schedule a free consultation on your case.